News

Survey

We'd like to share a massive thank you from all our team to everyone who completed our survey. We had 111 responses from across the globe and we're enthused by the depth of input in every response! It verifies for us the importance of our research and highlights the potential for creating a global network of knowledge, experience and interest.

We're pulling all the data together and will report on this very soon, so please do keep checking back here for updates and to hear more about our upcoming events for 2021.

How can we navigate a coordinated response to overlapping global crises without a common language?

We invite you to join the conversation.

Online Conversation - 28th January 2021

Registration Link:

https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/learning-for-resilience-conversation-tickets-136215400931 

Now more than ever, the need for resilience in higher education is paramount. But, across disciplines and around the world, there is no shared consensus about what resilience actually means. 

 

This event is envisaged as the foundational stage of ongoing collaboration through the education of the next generation of university graduates and resilience practitioners.

Event Objectives

We aim to collate and develop a learning and teaching resource that can be adapted for higher education programs, globally. Covid-19 has highlighted the need for flexible, hybrid learning and teaching approaches, which will allow content to be accessible across different contexts and geographies, including the Global South. We are prioritising increased access to content and educational approaches that target urban resilience in Development Assistance Committee (DAC) countries. 

 

  • Share our team’s research on defining resilience as a transdisciplinary concept and initial survey findings describing resilience from over 100 multidisciplinary experts worldwide. 

  • Workshop a shared understanding of resilience as both a boundary object (Brand and Jax, 2007) and nascent term.

  • Share knowledge with the intention to build a knowledge bank of relevant resources for resilience building/thinking/design in the future.

  • Build a network for ongoing collaboration and consensus-building for resilience in higher education; both as taught content and as a model or pedagogical approach in times of crisis.

Summary

Higher Educational Institutions worldwide are moving toward integrated and transdisciplinary approaches to learning and teaching in response to the growing complexity of the problems we face as a global community. However, adjusting existing curricula and creating new educational offerings for resilience education can be challenging, particularly when working across diverse organisations and institutions with limited knowledge exchange.

 

Resilient communities can endure both chronic stressors and acute shocks of climate change, disaster, poverty and conflict. The political, spatial, economic and social dimensions of built environments create contextually unique and interconnected problems that require transdisciplinary thinking. Future resilience practitioners must be equipped with integrated knowledge and the ability to envision and bring to fruition solutions that encompass all aspects of urban resilience.

 

We recognise the need and value of resilience-thinking in higher education. This interactive seminar will bring together people interested in building a shared understanding of what resilience education means and explore the creation of accessible, transferrable and targeted content and educational approaches for resilience education. Additionally, it will enable ongoing transdisciplinary,  cross-institutional collaboration between students and teaching staff through dynamic, student-centred and interactive hybrid pedagogies that include a range of on-ground and online modes. 

 

We invite academics and practitioners interested in contributing to or developing their expertise in this area. This seminar will explore pedagogical approaches for resilience in education that address: (1) varied geographic contexts; (2) varied disciplinary perspectives; in a way that is (3) responsive to current research conditions. In this way, we demonstrate adaptability in moving from standard delivery to a more resilient approach. We aim to contribute to resilience education by exploring educational approaches that will address pertinent current challenges.  

Schedule of Events

This event will be run as two dual sessions, repeated, to capture a full global reach of participants. Please select one session according to your preferred time.

We will send introductory material by Friday 22nd January in advance of the conversation.

Session 1 | AEST | 28th January @3pm (Targeting Asia-Pacific Region)

Auckland | Thurs 5 PM-7 PM

Sydney | Thurs 3 PM - 5 PM

Singapore | Thurs 12 PM - 2 PM

Mumbai | Thurs 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Los Angeles | Wed(27th) 8 PM - 10 PM
 

Session 2 | UTC | 28th January @3pm (Targeting Europe/Africa/Americas Regions)

Cape Town | Thurs 5 PM - 7 PM

Lagos | Thurs 4 PM - 6 PM

London | Thurs 3 PM - 5 PM

São Paulo | Thurs 12 PM - 2 PM

New York | Thurs 10 AM - 12 PM

Los Angeles | Thurs 7 AM - 9 AM

DRS2020
11th - 14th August 2020

As part of this project, Leigh-Anne Hepburn and Liz Brogden are facilitating a half-day, online workshop as part of DRS 2020. The aim of this workshop is to engage the design community to explore and articulate perspectives on design for resilience in the context of participatory co-design. The workshop will capture, collate and celebrate the breadth of expertise, experience and opinion of participants, encouraging critical reflection and working towards developing a shared body of knowledge around the theme. This co-created knowledge will contribute to the generation of research questions that can extend and expand the value of the workshop beyond DRS2020, encouraging participants towards future collaboration, and ultimately will contribute to and strengthen a broader discussion on design for resilience.